Europe inspired

July 13, 2010


Even though I primarily consume meat, cheese, bread, butter, coffee and alcohol while traveling in Europe, I usually tend to feel that I am more healthy while over there compared to when in the States.  Is it because I am on vacation and fail to recognize what I am actually eating or is it that food in Europe is more fresh and wholesome, lacking the hormones and antibiotics and etc. that food in the states so generously shares with its consumers?  Even so, at home I eat strictly organic/hormone, pesticide and antibiotic-free, so could that really be the difference?

I am thinking that with vacation comes ample time and extra money to spend, and so finding that fresh local bakery 3 times per day is not only feasible, but enjoyable.  This is not always possible between a 50-hour work week, kickball, happy hours, camping trips and managing a household.

So, in honor of my two weeks of lovely eating, I decided to continue the tradition and make a wholesome fresh meal for my first night back home.  I threw it together on the fly, but it was delicious nonetheless, and thought it would be worthy of a post.

Basil Fettucine with Prosciutto

Ingredients

16 oz fresh basil-flavored fettucine (whole wheat or regular) (I made it homemade with whole wheat flour and fresh basil, using a traditional pasta dough recipe, but for those normal people who do not make their own pasta, you can find basil-pasta at most farmer’s markets or specialty food stores)

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1/4 lb thinly sliced prosciutto

5 oz cherry tomatoes halved (1/2 small box they usually come in)

1/4 cup pine nuts

2 tablespoons butter

Salt, pepper and oregano to taste

Thinly sliced hard cheese to top pasta (parmesan or pecorino would do) (we used an Alpen cheese we purchased in Meiringen Switzerland)

Directions

Bring water to boil

Cook pasta as directed

Heat olive oil in a skillet and saute prosciutto, tomatoes and pine nuts over medium-low heat for 5 minutes

Add salt, pepper, and oregano to taste to prosciutto mixture

Drain pasta when cooked and toss with butter

Mix prosciutto mixture with cooked pasta

Add paper thin shavings of cheese to each serving

Ingredients: Very few

Difficulty: Very easy

Serves: 4 – 6 people

Goes With: A simple arugula salad, sliced ciabatta bread and red or white wine

Leave a comment